Shooting My Red Ryder BB Gun

This week I was fortunate enough to have my friend Jaryn over and we got to play basketball, throw the football around (we both played for the local pop warner football team), and learn about some weapon safety tules before shooting my Red Ryder BB Gun Rifle.

Yup, this is the same rifle Ralphy got for Christmas on The Christmas Story. One of my all time favorite movies.

Anyways, I’ve enjoyed shooting ever since I was a way smaller kid. My dad is a Marine and I was lucky enough to learn to shoot at a young age. I even shot this rifle and other bb guns at an indoor range. 

Here are some of the safety rules I was taught:

  1. Treat every weapon as if it were loaded.
  2. Never point the weapon at anything you don’t intend to shoot.
  3. Keep your finger straight and off the trigger until you’re ready to fire.
  4. Keep the weapon on safe until you’re ready to fire.

There are a few other rules, and you can read about them on the Daisy Red Ryder website (http://www.Daisy.com/safetyrules).

If you want to make targets, you can simply use some markers and a piece of paper, or cardboard, draw your targets, and hang them on a surface that won’t get damaged. Remember to consider not only the target, but whatever is right behind it. You don’t want to bb’s to pierce through the target and hurt someone else or damage someone’s property.

Thanks for reading and watching!

Stay Safe!

– Dude Decent!

 

Leave a Reply

